Real Faith

Through this journey called life, I’ve learned a lot about what faith’s all about … real faith, that is.  Real faith isn’t believing that God is good and loves you when everything’s going your way and you’re being “blessed” at every turn.

Real faith is when you can’t see any evidence of God’s goodness or His love … but you believe anyway.

Real faith is a choice I have to make everyday.  Do I believe the truth about God’s love for me, or do I believe the circumstances and the storm that rages around me?  It’s my choice.  Everyday, it’s my  choice.

Somedays it’s easier than others to choose the way of real faith.  But it’s an incredible experience to realize at the end of another day, that  I still choose to believe.  To know that even when I’m faithless, He remains faithful.  To firmly believe with all my heart that He’s working something eternal into my life that might not have anything at all to do with the here-and-now life we’re walking through.

God’s goal isn’t to make me into a “happy” person … but to mold and shape me into the image of His Son.  And sometimes His molding and shaping may even require a blazing furnace … or a raging storm … or a parched desert.

If Jesus learned obedience through the things He suffered — by walking His own path of suffering — who am I to expect to learn important eternal lessons through health, wealth, and a life of ease?


Another faith-related essential I’ve learned through all this grief and pain:  Happiness vs. Joy

7 thoughts on “Real Faith

  1. So true Simple, so true. In fact, today was one of those days when everything around me proved there was no reason to have faith in anything. Ironic that I should happen upon this post. Thank you for that.
    WC

    Like

  2. Wow… I can tell I’ll be visiting here often. So much of what you wrote touched me on a deep and personal level.

    When my husband died suddenly and I had to raise 3 children alone at the age of 35, I began to learn a lot about the decision to have Faith… about the decision to get out of bed each morning… about shaking my fist at the sky some days… about who I thought would “be there” for me – and who actually was.

    It is exactly that Faith you speak of that has brought me this far. Thank God He doesn’t give up on us (even when we think He has)!

    God bless you and your family,

    Debi

    Like

  3. Pingback: “Real” Faith « The Great Apostasy

  4. Very good. Faith comes from God’s word to us, and our life is energized by His promise. Faith is in God to meet our desperate need. One of the ways faith is maintained, is by watching for God to answer. Isa. 62:6,7 Hab. 2:1

    Like

Leave a Reply

