Loving Myself for Lent


My daughter’s latest blog post.

Originally posted on Kelsey L. Munger:

CC Loco Steve CC Image courtesy of Loco Steve Flickr

I was in eighth grade the first time I was ever introduced to the idea of “fasting.” My youth group, like many evangelical youth groups throughout the country, was participating in the 30 Hour Famine — a fundraiser for a very Christian-y relief organization. We were sent out to knock on doors and beg family and friends into supporting us as we fasted for 30 hours in order to get a taste of poverty.

I hadn’t wanted to participate in the event but Youth Pastor had guilted me into it (that’s why I ended up going on a lot of youth group activities, now that I think about it).  I hadn’t liked the idea of going without food for 30 hours, worried about my blood sugar, and that style of fund raising made me a little uncomfortable, but people were starving so who was…

View original 1,350 more words

2 thoughts on “Loving Myself for Lent

  1. Very thought provoking article- thanks for sharing. I experienced some of this growing up but not to the extent Kelsey did. As a result, I still have a hard time liking myself, as is, but I’m working on it (with God’s help)!


Leave a Reply

